Posted in Book Purchases, Book Reviews, Bookish Talk, Reading Challenge

Weekly Wrap-up

Hey readers,

Sorry about not posting my weekly wrap-up for the past two weeks. I do like the idea of posting this information, but I always tend to forget to do so on Sundays. Without further ado, I present my weekly wrap-ups from January 14 – 20, and January 21 – 27. I have a tendency to read books based on their cover, and their titles, do any of these books capture your attention just by looking at the covers, or am I alone on this?

Currently Reading, as of  January 28, 2019;

Benzen by Zara Zenia

51gfdrh7ull5331859989335469051.jpg

Only one person can protect her, and that’s ME.

After escaping their home, six aliens, including Benzen, hope to find freedom on a different planet. They end up crashing onto a strange planet, a strange culture, and even stranger inhabitants.

They expected to learn some new things. However, one didn’t expect to find love.

The Orba warriors are on the run from their people, now that their once peace-loving planet has been taken over by a hostile dictator, Palzu. They find out that they ended up on Earth and meet a young woman named Allison who takes them under her wing.

When Palzu’s soldiers come after them, the group splits up and Benzen stays behind to protect Allison. But then he starts to develop feelings for her.

What will happen when he’s forced to show her what he truly is? Will she accept him or fear him? And will they be able to escape Palzu’s forces?

Benzen is the first book in the Warriors of Orba series, following the Orba warriors and the human women that love them. Each book in this page-turning science fiction series can be read as standalones, there are NO cliffhangers, and a GUARANTEED happily ever after! ~Amazon~

52 #1 by Geoff Johns

52_14725602282148880077.jpg

Four of the most critically acclaimed writers in comics—Geoff Johns, Grant Morrison, Greg Rucka and Mark Waid—are joined by breakdown artist Keith Giffen and a host of the industry’s finest pencillers and inkers to create this unprecedented event in comics history.

DC’s groundbreaking publication of the weekly comic 52 tells the story of a “missing” year in the DC Universe—in real time. The cataclysmic events of INFINITE CRISIS have left the world without its three biggest icons—Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman¾and the question is asked: who will stand up in their absence?

Now, in the first of two volumes, 52 is collected with bonus material after each chapter, including concept designs, page breakdowns, scripts, alternate story elements, and more! Collects 52 #1-26. ~Amazon~

Mage’s Legacy by Rebecca Hamilton, and Jade Kerrion

51vcqltumql2829790404411886175.jpg

He’s desperate. She’s a fraud. Together…they’re a disaster.

To save his siren clan from the ravaging sea serpents, Gabriel must seek the help of a mage to recover the Legacy Stone and heal the oceans. That’s how he finds himself at Kerina’s doorstep, begging for her aid, and grateful when she reluctantly agrees.

Now Gabriel and Kerina must survive the perils of the cursed seas and challenge the demonic Tua and his seven monstrous children for control of the Legacy Stone—a difficult enough task for a lone siren warrior and a powerful mage…

Except, Kerina’s not really a mage. The real mage died weeks before and hadn’t even been cold in her grave when Gabriel arrived desperate for her help. Kerina hadn’t exactly been eager to correct his mistake then, and now her lie of omission could leave the world in danger of complete extinction.

Kerina’s not sure how long she can keep up the ruse, and she’s running out of time to confess.

Fans of Kiera Cass, Neil Gaiman, and Faith Hunter will find this dystopian-fantasy siren adventure intensely addicting.

Scroll Up and One-Click today to start this Urban Fantasy Romance packed with magic, demons, mermaids, and mages. ~Amazon~

Completed Reading

Week of January 14;

I am Suicide part 3 – 5

Week of January 21;

Alien Fighter’s Woman by Scarlett Grove

51r7lqfh0al1756165062767803423.jpg She needs a way off the planet … but she gets a lot more than she bargained for.

When Tabby Wilson has to run from her techno-drug-dealing boyfriend, she figures the Draconian mating lottery will be her ticket to safety — and the good life. Then her new mate is forced to take her along on his commando mission, but she soon learns that the dragon shifter alien provides benefits far greater than luxury.

Oro Nix can’t afford distractions — he’s an elite fighter facing a serious human threat. Nonetheless, he quickly succumbs to the lure of his sassy little human mate, her sexy curves, and the roar of his inner dragon.

But he and Tabby soon discover that his mission is more complicated than either of them realized — and she’s part of it. ~Amazon~

Advertisements
Posted in Book Purchases, Book Reviews, Bookish Talk, Reading Challenge

Carved Review

Carved (The ROad to Hell Series Book 2) by Brenda K. Davies

Published: October 2016

Genre: Paranormal Romance

E-book Pages: 390

Audiobooks: 10h 31m

Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Amazon           Barnes & Noble                   Kobo

Summary

River
As the perilous journey across a country I’d long thought destroyed begins, I don’t know who I am anymore or what I’m becoming. My abilities grow stronger with each passing day, as does the fear of what comes next. All I know is that I will do anything to avoid becoming like Lucifer, and to protect those I love, even if that means protecting them from me.

Kobal
No matter what it takes, I will keep River safe, even if my actions end up driving a wedge between us. River is mine to protect, no matter how hard that might be to do now that our journey has begun. I won’t stop until Lucifer is destroyed, won’t stop until I claim my throne, and she will be by my side when I do. It’s all just a matter of keeping her alive until then.

There are four books in this paranormal romance series which is now complete. Not all things will be resolved in this book. Due to sexual content, violence, and language, this book is recommended for listeners 18+ years of age.

~Amazon~

Review

Carved, picks-up right where Good Intentions left off. River and Kobal’s relationship is just a wishy-washy as it was in the first book. One second they’re hot and all over each other and the next second one of them is somehow offending the other, I guess they have a normal-ish relationship. I am happy that this isn’t just a power couple that is completely head over heels in love with one another. It makes everything very refreshing to see a normal type of relationship, as normal as a relationship can be when one is a human, and the other is from hell.

River has been working on her craft, a wondrous gift from her dad, Lucifer. With River working hard to perfect her abilities, she’s working even harder at trying to save herself from becoming like her father. Alongside a group of abled humans who have ranked high among the classes in the camp and Kobal along with his companions, it shows just how when the time comes everyone can work together, we’d hope. I enjoy seeing both River and Kobal working hard to accomplish one main goal, but at times I felt that the story could’ve moved along a little faster.

If anyone checks out the story, let me know if you have the same feelings as I did. From the normal like relationships to the trust, they have to have with one another during post-apocalyptic times, down to the heartfelt moments gives you a warming feeling, and makes you believe everything will work out perfectly fine, only the next book will tell.


Thanks for stopping by to check my review on Carved by Brenda K. Davies. Until next time, be sure to Read THS!

Posted in Book Reviews

Pennies Review

Pennies (Book #1 of the Dollar Series) by Pepper Winters

Published: July 2016 Genre: Romance/Mystery

E-book: 300 pages

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazon        Barnes & Noble       Kobo

Where do I begin? There are so many things I could say, but I refuse to spoil the book for you. Pepper Winters is known as the Queen of Darkness, every book I have read by her has taken me on a emotional roller coaster and still I continue to read.

Pennies is about a girl that is stolen, stolen from the life she knows and dragged to a world that is not at all pretty. She becomes a slave, a slave to a man that takes pleasure in doing the unthinkable. She suffers this ill fate for some time, at moments wishing things would just be over with, and yet she holds out until the day Elder Prest enters her life. Both Pim and Elder share similar qualities they are stubborn, strong, intelligent, and caring but the obstacle that keeps them apart are their issues. They are two broken souls with traumatizing pasts and a questioning future.

This first book is set-up perfectly, it is a show burner romance that is not at all romantic. While reading, the events that take place are so vivid that you believe you have lived through them yourself. The writing rakes you into the book where you can clearly see everything act out in front of your eyes. If you enjoy suspense, romance, action, and thrillers with a dark side I definitely recommend this read.

 

 

Posted in Book Reviews

Stuck in a Rut

Have you guys ever been in a reading rut? I am a little late on my announcement but I was in the worst reading funk of the year. I, like so many other readers had so many books on my shelves as well as in my kindle app, barnes and noble app and my audibles app that I was so eager to read, and listen to. For about a month I could not read anything, every book I picked up I sat back down, every time I started an audio book I stopped it because I just couldn’t concentrate. I felt so lost for what seemed like forever, I didn’t know what to do in order to get out of the cycle. One day about 2 weeks ago I decided to go back and reread a book that I felt I’d fallen in love with years ago, this I believe was the best answer to ending my book drought. I am so happy to say that I am back and reading in full force!

P.S. I think I will do a little book review on the novel that got me out of my funk, it was a little steamy (I am not exaggerating on the small steam) number and I remembered a lot of the details but some parts still registered as new information. It was very interesting to go back and reread everything as if it were something new I found some parts that I still liked other portions I would’ve changed, but you guys will read about all of that later on.

P.P.S. Check us out on Facebook @readths.

Until next time,
~T~

Posted in Book Reviews

#Fall

Happy Autumn Equinox, everyone! The warm coffee against the crisp air, the oversized sweaters paired with big boots, the vast array of different pumpkins sitting on top of the falling leaves. I love this season so very much, so I couldn’t resist participating in a tag that helps celebrate this wonderful time of year. 🍂 […]

via Autumn Book Tag — meltotheany

Posted in Book Reviews

Welcome Readers

Read TH*S is an informative page composed of three friends who have a voluminous love for books. We thought we would put together a page to share our love with everyone else. We will be bringing weekly posts about some of our favorite authors, our first reads, and many other conversation starters. We will also be posting reviews on current books we are reading and our summary and reaction to those books. Please feel free to comment, like, and share on any of the upcoming posts. If you have any books you would like to recommend we would love to hear from you.

Stay Tuned,
Read TH*Scropped-read-ths-logo.png